Waynesburg University Business Administration hosts honor event

On Monday, April 4 at 4 p.m. in the Center for Research and Economic Development, the Business Administration conducted their Sigma Beta Delta and Honor Event. The event honored the new Chapter President, Wesley Hershelman, as well as multiple students and new members. 

To become a member of Sigma Beta Delta, students must rank in the top 20% of their class. 

“This is the first time we are able to hold this ceremony in two years,” Wesley Hershelman, professor of Business Administration at Waynesburg University said. “It’s an honor.” 

The Sigma Beta Delta inductees were Adam Harnett, Briston Bennett, Elyse Morgan, Haley Berry, Jaclyn Rider, Karlee Anderson, Nathan Brudnock, Parker Makowski, Samantha Pete, Sarah Brown, Shayla Rokicki and Tyler Gadd. 

Karlee Anderson, a junior at Waynesburg University and Sigma Beta Delta inductee said, “I am incredibly honored to be recognized for this once in a lifetime membership,” Anderson said. 

She wouldn’t have expected this award coming here her freshman year, as she started as a nursing major.

“This demonstrates that everyone can do anything they set their minds to, since I would never have imagined this incredible opportunity,” she said.

Anderson plans on working in the healthcare field as a businesswoman to make a real difference in the industry from a business standpoint. 

The departmental honors, which are awarded to seniors for having the highest GPA in their major in Business Administration, was awarded to the following seniors: Jonathan Baily, Robert Redinger, Jared Hutchinson, Tyler Raines, Benjamin Ledbetter, Steven Eng, Emily Petro and Sophia Hicks.