Aftermath of the WUEspy’s

This past Sunday, April 14, Waynesburg University hosted their annual WUEspy’s awards for all of the Waynesburg Athletics. There were a total of 22 awards handed out with a handful being repeat or multiple-award winners. 

Waynesburg Softball took home a total of eight awards, while senior Antone Baker had three awards and for the second straight year, Waynesburg had the reporter of the year award won by junior Megan Barry. 

“Truly, all I can do is thank God for this blessing,” Barry said. “It genuinely feels really rewarding…I thank God for helping me through these hard times and blessing me with this beautiful reward for the work I have achieved in his glory.” 

The award means more to just the recipients, it is an award that has value to the nominees too. 

“I think it is well deserved for all the work the communications department does for the athletes and athletics programs,” senior sports media major, Logan Lepiscopo said. “With the Waynesburg University Sports Network (WUSN) we allow athletes to be covered like no other PAC school can.” 

Here is a complete list of all the winners from last Sunday night’s event:

Men’s Athlete of the Year: 

  • Antone Baker

Women’s Athlete of the Year:

  • Sydney Wilson 

Men’s Team of the Year:

  • Men’s Soccer 

Women’s Team of the Year: 

  • Women’s Softball

Men’s Rookie/New to WU of the Year: 

  • Zachary Johnson

Women’s Rookie/New to WU of the Year: 

  • Julz Mohrbacher 

Men’s play of the Year: 

  • Antone Baker (Score and block)

Women’s play of the Year: 

  • Hailey Gilchrest (OT game-winning goal against W&J)

Men’s Individual Performance of the Year:

  • Antone Baker (30-point performance vs Allegheny)

Women’s Individual Performance of the Year:

  • Autumn Stemple (No-hitter vs Franciscan) 

Men’s Team Performance of the Year:

  • Men’s Soccer (playoff victory over Chatham)

Women’s Team Performance of the Year: 

  • Softball (back-to-back PAC Championships)

Men’s Breakout Athlete of the Year: 

  • Ayden Bishoff

Women’s Breakout Athlete of the Year: 

  • Jasmine Demaske 

Men’s Student Athlete of the Year: 

  • Ethan Lown 

Women’s Student Athlete of the Year: 

  • Kate James 

Men’s Coach of the Year: 

  • Treg Lunger

Women’s Coach of the Year: 

  • Brett Shimek

Staff Member of the Year: 

  • Jen Gallagher

ESports Team of the Year: 

  • Valorant

Christian Leadership Award: 

  • Grace Ingram

Reporter of the Year:

  • Meg Barry